Skip to content
Belfast Counts — Belfast, in numbers.Local help →

Belfast · Northern Ireland

People and living standards

Belfast council area. Every figure carries its own date.

Belfast

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Belfast local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 328,695 in 2001 to 351,927 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

2001 to 2025

Belfast council area · people

Reviewed figures: 2001 to 2025. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 328,695 people in 2001; 351,927 people in 2025. 7.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Belfast council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991These figures are missing.
1992These figures are missing.
1993These figures are missing.
1994These figures are missing.
1995These figures are missing.
1996These figures are missing.
1997These figures are missing.
1998These figures are missing.
1999These figures are missing.
2000These figures are missing.
2001328,695
2002328,471
2003327,176
2004326,268
2005325,483
2006325,985
2007327,383
2008330,052
2009331,763
2010333,489
2011333,895
2012334,322
2013335,881
2014337,872
2015340,194
2016341,111
2017341,915
2018343,690
2019345,391
2020344,994
2021344,992
2022348,005
2023350,533
2024352,390
2025351,927
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

2001 to 2025

Belfast council area · people

Reviewed figures: 2001 to 2025. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 73,962 people in 2001; 64,867 people in 2025. 12.3% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Belfast council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991These figures are missing.
1992These figures are missing.
1993These figures are missing.
1994These figures are missing.
1995These figures are missing.
1996These figures are missing.
1997These figures are missing.
1998These figures are missing.
1999These figures are missing.
2000These figures are missing.
200173,962
200271,857
200369,849
200468,364
200566,851
200665,904
200765,234
200865,082
200964,779
201064,610
201164,880
201265,473
201365,803
201466,091
201566,463
201666,712
201766,900
201867,085
201967,265
202066,558
202165,941
202266,391
202366,509
202465,792
202564,867
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

2001 to 2025

Belfast council area · people

Reviewed figures: 2001 to 2025. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 205,117 people in 2001; 232,376 people in 2025. 13.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Belfast council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991These figures are missing.
1992These figures are missing.
1993These figures are missing.
1994These figures are missing.
1995These figures are missing.
1996These figures are missing.
1997These figures are missing.
1998These figures are missing.
1999These figures are missing.
2000These figures are missing.
2001205,117
2002207,244
2003208,342
2004209,361
2005210,542
2006212,315
2007214,553
2008217,183
2009219,107
2010220,769
2011220,623
2012220,490
2013221,567
2014222,996
2015224,917
2016225,495
2017225,849
2018227,238
2019228,035
2020227,970
2021227,872
2022229,625
2023231,243
2024233,089
2025232,376
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

2001 to 2025

Belfast council area · people

Reviewed figures: 2001 to 2025. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 49,616 people in 2001; 54,684 people in 2025. 10.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Belfast council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991These figures are missing.
1992These figures are missing.
1993These figures are missing.
1994These figures are missing.
1995These figures are missing.
1996These figures are missing.
1997These figures are missing.
1998These figures are missing.
1999These figures are missing.
2000These figures are missing.
200149,616
200249,370
200348,985
200448,543
200548,090
200647,766
200747,596
200847,787
200947,877
201048,110
201148,392
201248,359
201348,511
201448,785
201548,814
201648,904
201749,166
201849,367
201950,091
202050,466
202151,179
202251,989
202352,781
202453,509
202554,684
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 345,419 residents
How this census compares with other years

Northern Ireland’s 2021 native ethnicity categories are retained. Counts are for current Local Government Districts, not reconstructed historical districts. Different tables can differ slightly because of census privacy protection.

Ethnic group · Belfast · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White321,05392.9%
Irish Traveller2990.1%
Roma3140.1%
Indian4,3611.3%
Chinese4,7381.4%
Filipino1,6370.5%
Pakistani4920.1%
Arab1,0140.3%
Other Asian1,6800.5%
Black African4,1271.2%
Black Other5130.1%
Mixed4,1591.2%
Other ethnicities1,0320.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 17.5% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Belfast council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £9,734 per person in 1997; £21,429 per person in 2024. 120.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Belfast council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19979,734
19989,820
199910,107
200010,605
200110,957
200211,304
200311,566
200411,951
200512,220
200612,717
200712,879
200813,496
200913,787
201013,767
201113,947
201214,172
201314,593
201414,813
201515,103
201615,153
201715,563
201816,027
201916,698
202016,846
202117,770
202218,819
202320,086
202421,429
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Belfast council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -8.3% in 1997; -17.5% in 2024. 9.2 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Belfast council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-8.3
1998-9.3
1999-10.6
2000-10.9
2001-11.4
2002-10.7
2003-11.3
2004-11.9
2005-13.1
2006-13.2
2007-16.1
2008-14.3
2009-13.9
2010-14.8
2011-14.4
2012-16.1
2013-16.7
2014-18.1
2015-20.6
2016-21.3
2017-21
2018-21.5
2019-20.8
2020-19.7
2021-18.6
2022-18
2023-17.9
2024-17.5
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults with no qualifications

23.9%

21 March 2021 · Belfast local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

First count table in Ward/LGD/NI worksheets of census-2021-ms-g01.xlsx. Each percentage uses its own table denominator. Census privacy adjustments can make totals differ slightly between tables.

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

10%

21 March 2021 · Belfast local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

First count table in Ward/LGD/NI worksheets of census-2021-ms-d01.xlsx. Each percentage uses its own table denominator. Census privacy adjustments can make totals differ slightly between tables.

Source →

Average home price

£185,000

July 2026 · Belfast local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

25 of 35 requested annual observations are available for population; missing years are not zero.

25 of 35 requested annual observations are available for people aged 0 to 15; missing years are not zero.

25 of 35 requested annual observations are available for people aged 16 to 64; missing years are not zero.

25 of 35 requested annual observations are available for people aged 65 or over; missing years are not zero.

No counts returned for this exact present-day area code in the 2011 census table. Older boundaries have not been reassigned by name or population share.

The 2001 Northern Ireland ethnicity table uses former districts; a verified reconstruction to this modern area is not included.

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.